The Fraternity of the Laity, an important arena institution, was founded in 1262 with the approval of the bishop of Arezzo Guglielmino degli Ubertini with the official name of Fraternity of Santa Maria della Misericordia, thanks to the will of a group of people directed by the fathers Dominicans and eager to help the poor and the sick.

Following legacies and donations, the Fraternity has been a great business for the city of Arezzo over the centuries, including paying Giorgio Vasari's lodges.

The Fraternity, which is home to the homonymous palace, has an important archive that covers 5 centuries of history. Bibliografiamodifica wikitesto

wiki